RSS Feed

Chocolate Eclair Squares

Posted on

I. LOVE. CHOCOLATE. ECLAIRS.

 
Which is one reason why it took me so long to try this recipe.  French vanilla pudding and graham crackers?  There’s no way that combination could yield anything that even remotely resembled my beloved eclairs (or so I thought).
 
Thankfully I got over myself and made the recipe because it really is almost exactly like a chocolate eclair–so similar I was truly amazed. I don’t know how it’s possible, but I’m too busy eating them to try and figure it out.  Even my husband, who didn’t think he liked eclairs, ate two helpings of this desserts, so either it’s different enough that anyone can enjoy it or he was just delusional…which is more likely to be true.  I mean, is it even possible to not like eclairs?  I think not. 
 
Without further ado, I present to you the recipe that’s been floating around so long who knows where it originally came from.  My source is the great baking legend herself, Marina Castle (aka Food Editor).
Chocolate Eclair Squares
Splendour In My Kitchen by Marina Castle
Serves 12
 
Filling
1 (14.4 oz) box honey graham crackers
2 (4 oz) boxes French vanilla instant pudding mix
2 3/4 c whole milk
1 (8 oz) container Cool Whip
 
Topping
6 T cocoa powder
2 T vegetable oil
2 T light corn syrup
2 t vanilla extract
3 T butter, softened
1 1/2 c powdered sugar
3 T whole milk
 
Blend pudding mixes with milk until thickened, then beat in Cool Whip.  Butter a 9×13 inch pan.  Arrange crackers in a single layer on the bottom.  Pour half the pudding mixture over the top and cover with another layer of graham crackers.  Cover them with the other half of the pudding mixture and finish with a final layer of graham crackers.  Refrigerate for 2 hours.
 
Blend all topping ingredients well, then spread over the top of the dessert.  Refrigerate overnight and cut into 12 squares to serve.


About Veronica

I have a kitchen addiction and love to collect & share recipes. My passion is baking but I love to cook as well. The only thing I don't like to do in the kitchen is wash dishes, but my husband generally does them for me in exchange for his dinner.

8 responses »

  1. Pingback: My Favorite Cheesecake and BSI: Cream Cheese Announcement « Recipe Rhapsody

  2. Pingback: Heavenly Peanut Butter Pie « Veronica's Cornucopia

  3. I’ve recently discovered your site. (what took me so long!:?!)This is my 3rd day straight of doing nothing but peruse your wonderful recipe’s, stories and pictures. I have a notebook page front and half back full of ingredients I will be getting tomorrow to try just a few of your wonderful delights. This IS definitely one of them!! I’ve been on a diet and am down near 50 pounds, so this will be my *prize* to myself :) Looks wonderful. I have joined your blog, I love to cook, and sweets are my specialty, so this site is as close to earthly heaven I have seen!

    Like

    Reply
    • Wow Velma! 50 pounds is outstanding! You know, you can lighten this up by using low fat and sugar free ingredients but what I usually say with desserts is if you’re going to make them, make them right. Treat yourself and enjoy your indulgence. :) I’m so glad you’re enjoying yourself here–I’m certainly glad to have you and hear from you! Let me know how your treats turn out as you make them. And any weight loss tips you have, please share!

      Like

      Reply
      • I actually joined myfitnesspal.com there is an ABUNDANT supply of support in the forums and with the people you friend there. I am dedicated about logging all my food and calories for the day (many foods are already in the database_)
        btw, I used thee full fat version of this and it was FABULOUS! Thank you!

        Like

        Reply
  4. My kids grew up with this dessert. The trick is to let the “eclairs” sit for a while so the flavors meld and the crackers get soft and pastry like…..

    Like

    Reply
  5. Pingback: My socks are missing « Veronica's Cornucopia

Leave a comment