RSS Feed

Triple Chocolate Caramel Corn

Posted on

In the middle of packing Dennis up to go on a business trip this last Saturday, I realized I’d forgotten a friend’s birthday and had to come up with something quick to give her when I saw her at church the next day.

This is what I made, and between me and Dennis shoving handfuls in our mouths while it cooled, she’s darn lucky she got any of it!

Triple Chocolate Caramel Corn

Slightly Adapted from Red’s Ultimate Chocolate Caramel Popcorn

½ cup popcorn kernels, popped (I use an air popper)
1 (12-oz) container salted mixed nuts
1 cup unsalted butter (2 sticks)
2 cups packed light brown sugar
1/2 cup light corn syrup
1 teaspoon salt
1 teaspoon baking soda
½ cup (3 oz) dark or semi-sweet chocolate chips
½ cup (3 oz) milk chocolate chips
½ cup (3 oz) white chocolate chips

Preheat oven to 200 degrees. Divide the popcorn between two very large bowls and pour half the mixed nuts over each bowl of popcorn.

Stirring constantly, bring butter, brown sugar, salt & corn syrup to a boil over medium heat. As soon as it starts to bubble around the edges, set the timer for five minutes and continue stirring while it boils. After five minutes, remove from heat and stir in baking soda. Mixture will get foamy.

Pour half over each bowl of popcorn and stir it all up, working quickly before the caramel starts to harden. If you have someone to stir the second bowl, that helps but is not necessary. Stir well to get the popcorn and nuts evenly coated.

Place in large roaster pan and stir again, then and bake for one hour, stirring every 15 minutes.

While it is baking, cover two cookie sheets with waxed paper. Once the popcorn is done, remove from oven, give it another stir, and spread in an even layer over the cookie sheets.

Melt the chocolates in three separate bowls by microwaving for 30 seconds, stirring, and continuing in intervals until it is smooth. Be careful not to overheat the chocolate or it will seize and be ruined. Drizzle each variety of chocolate evenly over the popcorn with a spoon or by pouring it in a thin stream from the bowl.

Place the cookie sheets in the fridge and Allow the chocolate to set before breaking into pieces and packaging in airtight container(s).

About Veronica

I have a kitchen addiction and love to collect & share recipes. My passion is baking but I love to cook as well. The only thing I don't like to do in the kitchen is wash dishes, but my husband generally does them for me in exchange for his dinner.

3 responses »

  1. now i want more..

    Like

    Reply
  2. They look wonderful V…..The chocolate caramel corn would make a great gift to give to my co-workers and for me to take (sneak) into the movies on Christmas Eve (my tradition)…

    Like

    Reply
  3. Pingback: Peanutty Chocolate Truffles « Recipe Rhapsody

Leave a comment