RSS Feed

Black Gold Cookies

Posted on

These cookies don’t need a long introduction.  They are uber-chocolatey and sort of like a truffle in cookie form.  My husband describes them like this, “Chocolate-chocolate chip with chocolate and added chocolate.” Yeah, that pretty much sums it up! They are so moist, soft, and melty on the inside, unlike any cookie I’ve ever had before.  Definitely will win over any chocolate-lover!

Black Gold Cookies
From Death By Chocolate Cookies by Marcel Desaulniers

6 tablespoons all-purpose flour
1/2 teaspoon baking powder
1/2 teaspoon salt
10 ounces semisweet chocolate, chopped into 1/4-inch pieces, divided
2 ounces unsweetened chocolate, chopped into 1/4-inch pieces
6 tablespoons unsalted butter
2 large eggs
1/2 cup granulated sugar
2 teaspoons vanilla

Preheat the oven to 325°F and line 3 baking sheets with parchment.

In a sifter combine the flour, baking powder and salt. Sift onto a large piece of wax paper and set aside until needed.

Heat 1 inch of water in the bottom half of a double boiler over medium heat. With the heat on, place 6 ounces semisweet chocolate, the unsweetened chocolate, and butter in the top half of the double boiler. Use a rubber spatula to stir the chocolate and butter until completely melted and smooth, about 6 minutes. Transfer the melted chocolate mixture to a 1-quart bowl and set aside until needed.

Place the eggs, sugar and vanilla extract in the bowl of an electric mixer fitted with a paddle. Beat on medium 4 minutes until soft. Use a rubber spatula to scrape down the sides of the bowl, then continue to beat on medium for 2 more minutes. Stop the mixer, then add the melted chocolate and beat on medium for 1 minute until incorporated. Scrape down the bowl. Add the sifted dry ingredients and the remaining 4 ounces semisweet chocolate and mix on low speed until just incorporated, about 30 seconds. Remove the bowl from the mixer and use a rubber spatula to finish mixing the dough until thoroughly combined.

Using a heaping tablespoon of dough for each cookie (approximately 3/4 oz.), portion 12 cookies, evenly spaced, onto each of the prepared baking sheets. Place the baking sheets on the top and center racks of the preheated oven and bake for 9 to 10 minutes, rotating the sheets from top to center about halfway through the baking time (at this time also turn each sheet 180°F.).

Remove the cookies from the oven and allow to cool to room temperature on the baking sheets, about 30 minutes. Store the cooled cookies in a tightly sealed plastic container until ready to serve.

Makes 36 2 3/4-inch cookies.

Veronica’s Notes: I chose to melt 6 oz (half a bag) of semi-sweet chocolate chips with the unsweetened chocolate and then stirred in 4 oz of mini-chocolate chips into the batter at the end, b/c I found it easier than chopping chocolate.

About Veronica

I have a kitchen addiction and love to collect & share recipes. My passion is baking but I love to cook as well. The only thing I don't like to do in the kitchen is wash dishes, but my husband generally does them for me in exchange for his dinner.

36 responses »

  1. Woah, these look incredible! They look so soft and full of chocolate. They look perfect especially the outside how the crust of the cookie formed. I will def. try this one. Yummy! Thanks, now i am craving chocolate! Lol :)
    ~Southern Cookbook
    ~Cheryl

    Like

    Reply
  2. You’ve outdone yourself again! I can smell them, I can (almost) taste them…….. I want them now………………

    Like

    Reply
  3. Holy cow Veronica! Those look amazing even after I just made 200 cookies.

    And thank-you by the way for the suggestion to submit to Burp and Slurp. I didn’t know you sent in a submission though, or I probably wouldn’t have done so.

    Burp and Slurp is a fun blog. I can see why you like it.

    Laura

    Like

    Reply
    • What in the world did you just make 200 cookies for?! Yes, I do love Burp and Slurp–I’m completely charmed by Sophia. And of course you should have submitted your recipe–I suggested it, didn’t I? I knew I didn’t have much chance of winning (hello, did you see the scary photo?) b/c it wasn’t my own recipe and it’s not a big deal anyway–just something for fun.

      Like

      Reply
  4. Hey do you mind if I put the pic and link on my blog? The cake was a huge hit last week. Plus I know someone will make ‘ em and bring them into work!

    Like

    Reply
  5. I love the name of these cookies! And you’re right, they don’t need any introduction…their gooey, chocolately insides look incredible (and speak for themselves! ;) ).

    Like

    Reply
  6. Those look so flippin’ yummy! I am supposed to be doing homework, but if I had the chocolate on hand I would stop and make those cookies.
    p.s. you post so many delicious recipes. i can hardly keep up with all the ones i want to try.
    p.p.s. thanks for always being encouraging when you comment on my blog!

    Like

    Reply
    • Why you little flatterer! LOL–I know what you mean. I feel that way about most of the blogs I subscribe to, esp Best Bites and My Kitchen Cafe. I save so many recipes every day, I think my computer is just eventually going to overload and melt before my eyes. You’re welcome and I thank you as well for encouraging me–it means a lot to me.

      Like

      Reply
  7. I love the buttery and shiny texture! Too bad I’m taking a break from sweets but when I return, I shall make these! :D I love all things dark chocolate!!!

    Like

    Reply
    • I’m supposed to be on a break too but I bake cookies every Monday for my hubby to take to work and I haven’t yet been able to resist the siren call of those little devils! It’s really best just not to make the sweets, isn’t it? But I can’t stop baking. It’s my stress therapy. Or maybe it’s eating the sweets that is my therapy. :)

      Like

      Reply
  8. Wow, these cookies look incredible. The insides look so moist and delicious. I can’t wait to give these a try!

    Like

    Reply
  9. Oh wow. Those are perfect. I’m not the biggest chocolate fan, but if I had a box of those, I would be one really popular student here! Haha! :D

    Like

    Reply
  10. Honestly you had me at truffle. These cookies sound so rich and fantastic!

    Like

    Reply
  11. Veronica- I hit paydirt this AM- One of my co-workers brought in the cookies! I gotta tell you they’re wicked good!!! Thanks again!!!

    Like

    Reply
    • Man, you have some awesome co-workers! Did you even have to ask or was seeing the pic on your blog all it took? Where do you work–I might have to move. ;)

      Like

      Reply
  12. These look so good! I am thinking I could adapt these to be gluten free since they do not have a lot of flour in them. I could easily make a regular batch and a gf batch.

    Like

    Reply
  13. Those look so gooey and delicious. I want milk just looking at them!!

    Like

    Reply
  14. I just discovered your gorgeous, gorgeous blog! I’m awe of your incredible baked goods – WOW! These cookies look like perfect chocolate heaven… :-)

    Like

    Reply
  15. Pingback: Cookie Mondays Gets the Axe « Recipe Rhapsody

  16. Hey V…They looks so decadent…! I’d love some right NOW!!

    Like

    Reply
  17. Oh, my gosh, these look fabulous!! I love Marcels Desaulniers…so I know these taste as good as they look!

    Like

    Reply
  18. I blogged about these cookies today and gave your a mention and link back. Thanks for the inspiration!!!

    Like

    Reply
  19. Oh My Goodness. I just made a batch. I added about a cup of pecans, because I didn’t have walnuts. These cookies, with the nuts, are almost just like Black Gold cookies from the Upper Crust Bakery here in Austin. Thank you for posting this recipe!!

    Like

    Reply
  20. I need to make lots and lots of these for my daughter’s wedding. Do you think it best to freeze the dough or the cookies? Have you ever done either? I will not have time to make them fresh for the wedding.

    Like

    Reply
    • They will freeze well, but you might lose a bit of the crinkly tops. I haven’t tried freezing the dough but know the baked cookies store well in the freezer.

      Like

      Reply
  21. Hi!
    I just bumped into this recipe
    Your cookies look amazingly delicious, I only have one question did I read correctly there’s only 6 tbsp of flour and you’ll get 36 cookies I bake for fun for my kids and husband they’re my cookie monsters and I’m no expert what so ever so I was just wondering to make sure before I make the attempt to make these delicious chocolate delight
    Thanks in advance

    Like

    Reply

Leave a comment