RSS Feed

Crunchy Dilled Shrimp Salad

Posted on

I’ve been making this shrimp salad for several years and especially enjoy it in the spring and summer because it is light and bright. I love the crisp crunch from the water chestnuts and the nutty crunch from the cashews. The dill & lemon balance the slightly sweet taste of the dressing and pair perfectly with the shrimp. I usually serve it on a slice of toasted bread as an open-faced sandwich so I can enjoy the visual appeal of the pretty salad while I eat it.

I omitted the cashews from this batch and decreased the dressing to 1/3 cup, which saves 50 calories per serving.

Crunchy Dilled Shrimp Salad

Printable Recipe
Printable recipe with picture

1 (12 oz) bag frozen cooked shrimp, thawed and tails removed
1 (8 oz) can water chestnuts, drained
1/4 c cashews
1/2 c light Miracle Whip
3 T chopped fresh dill or 1 T dried dill
2 t lemon juice
3/4 t garlic powder
1/8 t salt

Roughly chop the shrimp, water chestnuts & cashews and mix in a medium bowl with all other ingredients. Serve immediately. If you will be serving later, omit the cashews and refrigerate. Stir them in just before serving so they will still be nice and crunchy.

Makes 4 servings.

Nutritional Info (per serving): 187 cal, 7 g fat, 177 mg cholesterol, 560 mg sodium, 12 g carbs, 1 g fiber, 20 g protein.

About Veronica

I have a kitchen addiction and love to collect & share recipes. My passion is baking but I love to cook as well. The only thing I don't like to do in the kitchen is wash dishes, but my husband generally does them for me in exchange for his dinner.

5 responses »

  1. OOO i like this alot, i have precooked shrimp in the freezer also :) ( i know, i posted 3 blogs today, the whoopie pies were an old one from MS…

    Like

    Reply
  2. What a pretty sandwich…like you said, it’s the perfect meal for warmer months. Dill and seafood are a perfect match, aren’t they?

    Like

    Reply
  3. Veronica this shrimp salad looks fantastic. Yummy!

    Like

    Reply
  4. Veronica, gimme a spoonful. Right now! Gosh this recipe is FABULOUS! I love your addition of cashews and water chestnuts….love the textures in there! Ah, I’ve never made shrimp salad before, but I’m clearly missing out!

    p.s. I totally LOL-ed at your outrage about the non-existent coconut muffin recipe. I forgot to include it into my next post, but I promise to reveal it sometime! Remind me, ok? :-)

    Like

    Reply
  5. Looks great and what a refreshing salad. Perfect, as you said, for the warmer months. Anything with shrimp is good for me :)

    Like

    Reply

Leave a comment